Anyone's experience with Liberica?

Tell us about the latest beans you've discovered and blends you've tried

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Anyone's experience with Liberica?

Postby hslade3 » Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:12 pm

I have had some good experiences with some Liberica from India over the last two seasons, and want to hear some others' experience with it. Where was it from, how did you profile it, prepare it, etc?

I think this forgotten species has a lot of potential fro farmers in the elevations too low for the highest quality Arabicas, but higher than the average Robusta growing areas. IF the professionals of the service side of the industry could resurrect it, that is.

Hunt Slade
Safehouse Coffee and Tea
hslade3

RE: Anyone

Postby Joris » Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:47 am

Never had the oppertunity to try a Liberica... would love to though...
Veni, Vidi, Imbibi Coffea !

Bezzera Lever Machine (customized)
Doserless Mazzer Major
"Juggernaut" Homebuilt Roaster
Aeropress, Vacpots, presspots and mokkapots
Joris

Re: RE: Anyone

Postby bruceb » Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:08 am

Joris wrote:Never had the oppertunity to try a Liberica... would love to though...

Ditto! Does anyone know of a source?
Three Francesconi (CMA) espresso machines - Rossi, San Marco, LaCimbali, Faema and 2 Mazzer Major grinders- CoffeeTech Maggionlino, Hottop, Alpenröst and HW Precision roasters.
I decided I needed a bit of a change so I roasted some Monsooned Malabar. That was a change!
bruceb

RE: Re: RE: Anyone

Postby Steve » Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:21 am

Tried some from Sweet Marias last year, so repulsive that it became interesting. Seriously its one of those coffees that makes you crave it in a strange way.
Steve
Founder Member

Postby Gouezeri » Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:10 am

You're a very odd man Steve :P
This week I are feeling sleepy!
Gouezeri

Postby Steve » Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:17 am