Kopi Luwak

Tell us about the latest beans you've discovered and blends you've tried

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Kopi Luwak

Postby Steve » Tue Oct 21, 2003 9:59 pm

I've been offered some of this bean. I must admit I'm really interested if the price is right has any one any experiance of it ? Any cuppping notes ?

Cheers
Steve
Founder Member

Ah yes, civet shit

Postby phil » Tue Oct 21, 2003 10:28 pm

This amused me
Attachments
kopiluwakmovie.gif
kopiluwakmovie.gif (72.47 KiB) Viewed 13242 times
phil
Founder Member

Postby phil » Tue Oct 21, 2003 10:30 pm

It's supposed to be very, very expensive. You know of course what this stuff is?
phil
Founder Member

Postby michel » Tue Oct 21, 2003 11:05 pm

Im new at toomuchcoffee, but have had my first big laugh already! Thanks Phil. :lol:
Eeffoc, please be careful that you do buy the real Kopi Luwak, as there is a lot of fake on the market, offered by people who want to make quick money... If I was walking in your shoes, I would be very sure the seller is someone I'm familiar with, or has good references. (and even then, the seller may not even know the stuff he is selling is not the real Kopi). On the other hand, I would be excited from here to the moon aswell, and as the price is 'reasonable' maybee it's worth a try...
(You probably already knew you have to be very cautious about Kopi-bargains but a warned man count's for two... - dutch saying -)
Michel
michel

Postby Steve » Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:47 am

The supplier is a big brokers which I have dealed with before. They are where I get my Blue mountain from and I have found them really reliable. I had the same concerns too but I'm as sure as you can be its the real deal. He phoned me specifically to ask me If I wanted it because he know for my love of the unusual (that includes the wife :D ).

I'll be makin a few more calls to him today to tie down a price

Later guys
Steve
Founder Member

Postby phil » Wed Oct 22, 2003 10:31 am