Espresso blends – where am I going wrong?

Tell us about the latest beans you've discovered and blends you've tried

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Espresso blends – where am I going wrong?

Postby GreenBean » Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:31 pm

I have been trying different beans to try to select the ones I like best as espresso to add to my stock of greens. I am disappointed and surprised that I have not really liked any of the espresso blends I have tried :cry: but absolutely love some of the single origins. :D

I realise that these blends have been developed to be better than the single origins and can not help thinking that I am missing something or doing something wrong. I have great faith in the micro roaster that supplied the beans (all espresso blends were professionally roasted beans) and on you guys who drink them. I am not good at describing tastes but have a sensitive pallet. All the espresso blends have just a tiny hint of ‘burned rubber’ to my taste. I do not get this with any of the single origins. It tastes almost as though a few Starbucks beans have been added to the blends. They have lots of great flavours and often start with a wow but the finish (hint of burned rubber) is always disappointing.

Before I order single origin beans and give up on blends can anyone suggest what I could try to get better espresso from the blends?

The beans I have tried as espresso in order of my preference are:

1. Brazil Fazenda Cachoeira Canario Screen Dried – Just wonderful
2. Ethiopian Yirgacheffe - Very good
3. Brazil Inglaterra Special - Almost as good
4. Guatemala Finca San Francisco Tecuamburro
5. Brazil Espresso perfeito Blend
6. Has Bean premium Espresso Blend
7. Brazil Daterra reserve Espresso Blend

Izzo Alex Duetto | Gaggia XD 2 Group | Mazzer Super Jolly | La Cimbali Max | Solis 166 | Dalian 1 kg roaster | Hottop P | Hottop B | French Press (several) | Kettle modded, no really, added digital thermometer |
GreenBean