sweet and earthy

Tell us about the latest beans you've discovered and blends you've tried

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

sweet and earthy

Postby huub » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:16 pm

Hi there!
I've happily just discovered ordering beans from the golden coffee box here in holland, and my newly arrived [size=x-small]Brazil Santa Luzia crop 2004[/size] is just wonderful!
I really like caramelly coffees, and this one is sweet and darkly roasted..
For some reason (might just be that it's a cheap machine) my isomac will only make nice espressos with darkly roasted beans..
However; The best coffees i've had in italy, were both sweet, yet had this subtle earthy undertone, wich gave it a sort of depth of taste (hey, i'm not a professional cupper, i'm just trying to explain my sensation).
Can anyone advise me on the type of bean i should try out? Or is this subtleness of taste unreachable with my isomac giada?

cheeeers
huub
excellent, smithers...

Isomac Itala, waterfilter, some shiny grinder that works pretty well, but has no brand I think.
huub

Postby Slimboyfat » Thu Dec 21, 2006 8:13 am

Hi huub

If you're into blending yourself, you could try adding some Peaberry, or Old Brown Java to your caramelly beans

Otherwise, ask your supplier if they have an espresso blend to suit

No doubt more advice will follow...

regards
Slimboy...

...never knowingly underfed

expobar pulser, quickmill 031, Reg Barber Radical Pro US curve, Koenigbot, aerobie, armour plated welded 1910 hybrid german whirley, several french presses, antique nepolitana, an old stovetop, Zassenhaus that smells of pepper and a hoover attachment colander/cooler thing
Slimboyfat

Postby huub » Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:52 pm

Thanks,
Yeah, I've actually ordered some java beans to blend, just to try..
I shall see.. or taste rather..
cheers
excellent, smithers...

Isomac Itala, waterfilter, some shiny grinder that works pretty well, but has no brand I think.
huub