Help controling my Giesen W1 gas roaster

Roasters and roasting

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Help controling my Giesen W1 gas roaster

Postby wgalex » Mon Oct 28, 2013 3:02 pm

Good day TMC community,

I own a small Giesen W1 gas roaster (the basic one) and apart from a manual (and inconsistent) flame control I can;t do much to it. Is there any way of conecting it to a laptop and use a freeware roasting software (typica for example ...) to get a better control over the flame (for example set it to 10,30,60,100%), maybe get some control over the fan (lower the airflow at first so that I keep moisture inside, turn it up at the end when the beans develop from the inside) and more importantly to get consistent roast profiles of my beans ?

I'd like to state that I'm no electrician but I do have a good one that could help. He just need some giudance I guess.

Any help with this would help me a lot.

Looking forward to your replys

Best regards, Alex

p.S. I have uploaded some pics of the control panel, I hope they help. They are high rez so I'm not able to upload them here, here's the dl link (.rar) : http://we.tl/LwbaPvCIWs
wgalex

RE: Help controling my Giesen W1 gas roaster

Postby bruceb » Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:11 pm

Hi Alex,

There is probably no easy answer to this, particularly since it is unlikely that anyone here is familiar with a Giesen roaster. You should first read through this thread. In it you will see that our very own member GreenBean has written a program that will take care of the software aspect of your problem. As to the hardware, I'm afraid you are on your own.
The RoastLogger program is written with a character recognition module that would allow you to use an inexpensive webcam to read your display and the program will present you with a curve of your roast. Controlling your roaster with the PC, however, will be a very different problem and will definitely require some (possibly complicated) hardware manipulation.