Talk me through a Gene Cafe roast

Roasters and roasting

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Talk me through a Gene Cafe roast

Postby dadioles » Mon Nov 26, 2007 8:05 pm

Hello

I have been roasting with Gene Cafe for a couple of months now and am pretty happy with the results, certainly better coffee than anything available in the area.

As a beginner I could do with a clearer idea of the roasting stages and what to look for. I think I can generally detect first and second crack but maybe there is a bit of imagination involved as it is not always too obvious what is happening. Self delusion is not difficult.

Could someone else with a Gene Cafe describe in detail how they roast their beans. So many descriptions either assume too much knowledge in the reader or are too brief and abbreviated to be helpful to a beginner such as myself.

The smells coming out of the machine seem to go through several stages:
Musty and hay like
Slightly toasty
First signs of smoke
Lots of smoke

Colour develops:
Raw green bean
Begining to colour up
Pale brownish
Darker
Rich dark brown
Very dark brown
Black

Surface texture seems to change and chaff is produced:
No chaff given off
Small amount of chaff starting to appear
Some beans may show a sort of silvery skin
Loads of chaff coming off
End of chaff production
Beans have dull matt finish
A few beans start showing shiny spots of oil
Beans start to look oily and shiny (dark roast)

What is the weight of beans? (I use 250g)

What is the starting temperature and time set?

Do you alter the temperature during the roast?

When people say things like "cool the beans 20 after second crack" it is a bit hard for a beginner to follow.

One thing I do find easy to do is see when the beans just start to exude the first tiny spots of oil as they become quite darkly roasted. Is that a useful guide to level of roast?