First 48 hours post roast

Roasters and roasting

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

First 48 hours post roast

Postby Panda » Thu Jun 16, 2005 6:52 am

Ok .. I'm still learning theory and practice ... can someone explain this please :

As I understand it, during the first 48 hours from roasting, the beans continue to undergo certain changes. I think they continue to release CO2 and I expect that this is as a result of chemical reactions within the beans.

I have seen comments like :

- when buying roasted beans always source freshly roasted beans which are less than 48 hours old (why ?)

but also

- the beans' flavour stabilises after 48 hours and prior to that the CO2 releases means that the flavour may not be fully/correctly imparted into the water when brewing (really?)

Is this all just a question of taste (ie they will taste different when ground & made pre versus post 48 hours from roasting) or is there a consistent opinion about the 'best' way of doing things?
bosch hot air gun, wooden stick, pyrex bowl
zassenhaus hand grinder (156)
bialetti moka espresso + brikka
small chipped pottery mug
Panda

Postby ivdp » Thu Jun 16, 2005 7:49 am

On your questin you will geta wide range of answers: some will say drink it fresh, do not wait.
others will advice to wait 24-36-48 hours, some will advice even a longer wait depending on the coffee.

Like with taste, you have to experiment yourselves. Test first what you like best: old coffee or fresh coffee....

Other peoples preferences should not be a guideline.

Ivo
KvdW Idro - M K30
ivdp

Postby jumper » Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:12 pm

i agree with ivo most people tell me to wait but sometimes i can't (waited till i was out of beans before i started roasting) and it just didn't make much of a differance it might have been better still its all subjective
mark
moccatronic eleganza 2gr
ecm botticelli 2
mazzer mini
fiorenzato t80
jumper

Postby simonp » Fri Jun 24, 2005 5:57 pm