IBERITAL I'ANNA issue - help please

Equipment, technique, or just drinking the stuff

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

IBERITAL I'ANNA issue - help please

Postby bobflemming » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:42 am

Hi everyone, I've just taken on a L'anna from a friend. It's sat idle for the last 6 weeks in his kitchen whilst he's been busy extending it... so it's a bit dusty, but I hoped nothing more.

Could you please have a look at the video I took of the start up and tell me what you think the symptoms are..

Short video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xbwt-jqtT0Q

- The reservoir is full of water,
- the lights do come on when the water tank is empty
- the pump appears to initially fire but then nothing
- the boiler does not heat up.

Any pointers would be greatly received.

As a newbie I have RTFM from cover to cover...

Thanks

R
bobflemming

Postby double_shot » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:52 pm

Hi Bobflemming,

Welcome to the forum.

I think you need to switch the rotary switch to the second position which will turn on the element.

The first stage is to allow the boiler to fill without the element running while the tank is dry.

Power on switch position one until pump stops filling the tank.
Power on switch position two pump and heater on.

Hope it's as easy as that.
double_shot

Postby GreenBean » Wed Nov 13, 2013 9:44 am

Welcome to TMC, Bobflemming.:D I think double_shot has correctly identified your problem. If you are new to espresso and espresso machines it would be well worthwhile getting your friend to spend an hour or so with you to get you started on operating the machine including grinding, dosing, distribution, tamping and pulling shots. A little hands on experience would save many hours of frustration.

Izzo Alex Duetto | Gaggia XD 2 Group | Mazzer Super Jolly | La Cimbali Max | Solis 166 | Dalian 1 kg roaster | Hottop P | Hottop B | French Press (several) | Kettle modded, no really, added digital thermometer |
GreenBean

Sorted!