Iberital L'Anna Steam Help

Equipment, technique, or just drinking the stuff

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Iberital L'Anna Steam Help

Postby boldham » Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:37 pm

Hi gang:
I'm learning to use this machine. I love the shots I'm getting from it, but I'm struggling with micro foam. Although I'm a novice, I seem to do okay on my other (albeit less powerful) machines. The problem is that the L'Anna has a large tip with 4 holes that are also quite large. My machine has a slide to turn on/off steam and there seems to be very little control over pressure; essentially on or off.
I feel like I reach maximum temperature way too fast and I get mostly milk with bubbly froth. The whirlpool is violent and it is difficult to control 'sipping' of air. I'm trying to froth small quantities of milk, but I didn't have much better luck doing larger volumes.
Should I try to regulate pressure or a tip with smaller/fewer holes.
Thanks for any advice!

:?:
boldham

RE: Iberital L

Postby bruceb » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:32 pm

For each tip there is a minimum volume of milk you can froth. If you increase the size of your jug and volume of milk you will probably find that your problem goes away. This may not be a satisfactory solution because you will be wasting too much milk. In that case you may find it necessary to replace the tip/wand with one that has smaller or less holes. If I use less than about 250 ml milk in a 0.5 l jug with my machine (5-hole tip) it blows all the milk out of the jug.
Three Francesconi (CMA) espresso machines - Rossi, San Marco, LaCimbali, Faema and 2 Mazzer Major grinders- CoffeeTech Maggionlino, Hottop, Alpenröst and HW Precision roasters.
I decided I needed a bit of a change so I roasted some Monsooned Malabar. That was a change!
bruceb

Re: RE: Iberital L

Postby boldham » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:37 pm