Kitchenaid Artisan 'spresso machine problem

Equipment, technique, or just drinking the stuff

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Kitchenaid Artisan 'spresso machine problem

Postby propofolpete » Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:27 am

Hi folks,
I'm hoping for a bit of guidance with my new bit of kit. I just got a new but non working Kitchenaid Artisan dual boiler machine. The pump works ok but there seems to be no action from the boilers. I put it on last night and the grouphead remained cold after 5-10 mins of waiting.
The machine is a nice step up from the Gaggia Selecta Deluxe I'm using at the moment so I'm happy to put a bit of time and effort into getting the problem sorted.
So people; what to do next? (I'm no electrician but later I'll be taking the top off to see if anything obvious is amiss-unplugged of course!)
Cheers,
Peter
so it goes...

Gaggia. Aristarco. Grindenstien. Has beans. SQM.
propofolpete

Postby dwalsh1 » Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:07 pm

If it's new, take it back to where you brought it for a refund. :)
dwalsh1

Postby propofolpete » Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:22 pm

I would love to do just that but the machine has been forgotten in the mists of a complex repair swapout cock up. My chum who is the kind donor has a brand new warranty machine and this one was a replacement that got sent out, didn't work and was replaced with a working one but never collected. Therefore a more elegant solution is needed...
Still haven't had a butcher's inside but might get a chance in a while.
so it goes...

propofolpete

Postby bruceb » Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:48 pm

Pete, the best way to go about this is to open it up, plug it in and using a multimeter follow the current from the mains cord to the heater to find out why no power is getting to the heating elements. However, if you are not used to working with 240VAC and don't feel comfortable with doing it don't even try as it is potentially lethal. In any case be certain the mains are unplugged before you open the case.