After pressure mod - still 10 second shot

Equipment, technique, or just drinking the stuff

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

After pressure mod - still 10 second shot

Postby james10 » Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:51 pm

So I'm relatively new to this whole coffee domain, but recently purchased a Gaggia Classic.

I've upgraded the silvia wand today and also tinkered with the OPV pressure (big thanks to the instructions / info from other members on this forum).

My problem is that, my shot of espresso is still coming out in under 10 seconds...which leads me to believe that it's either my tamping or the ground coffee isn't fine enough.

So I measured another double in the filter basket and but most of my weight on the tamper...pulled the shot...same result (10 seconds).
So by process of elimination it must be the coffee grind. Here's the part where you may accuse me of being a fool as I'm currently using Lavazza Caffe Espresso (pre-ground).

I was under the impression that pre-ground espresso coffee has it's downside's (mainly it's compromise of taste and flavour) but I thought the coarseness would be close enough to whats required and therefore enable me to pull a 25 second shot?

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
james10

RE: After pressure mod - still 10 second shot

Postby bruceb » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:37 pm