Portafilter size - is bigger better?

Equipment, technique, or just drinking the stuff

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Portafilter size - is bigger better?

Postby phil » Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:01 am

Following on from my visit to Eeffoc's yesterday to see his new Spazio and a discussion about the merits of portafilter size standardisation, just to be provocative I thought I'd offer my thoughts on the matter:
  • Firstly, I'm a senior IT consultant and so I understand the need for standards more than most.
  • Secondly, there is a point of view that says "it doesn't matter if it's crap - as long as it's standard then that's more important than anything else".
    I don't subscribe to that point of view - I was one of the few that bought a Philips' Video 2000 video many years ago - and that machine *then* was better than any VHS machine even today.
  • Thirdly, let's ask ourselves "why do La Spaziale use a 53mm basket for the same amount of coffee as everyone else puts in a 58mm basket?". The answer, as I understand it, is puck depth. The La Spaz guys seem to feel that a deeper puck leads to a better extraction.
  • I have heard others suggest that deep pucks are just a recipe for over-extraction. Hmmm, maybe. As a counter-argument I'd like to suggest that those of you with a La Marzocco double basket compare it side by side with a standard basket. What do you see? Well the La Marzocco baket is squarer in cross section, but it's also slightly deeper than the standard basket IIRC. Think about that.