Backflushing Dilema

For non-TMC members to ask questions and offer comments

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Backflushing Dilema

Postby Paws » Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:41 am

Hi there,

I work as a Barista in small Espresso Bar. Recently there has been a slight dilema amongst the staff relating to machine cleaning and backflushing.

When the machine is cleaned usually the staff scrub the groupheads with a brush and then backflush a few times.

When I clean the machine, I scrub the groupheads, I run some water through the grouphead and then I attach the blind filter and let it build up pressure for a few seconds. Then, I gently start to remove the blindfilter causing the water spray up to the coupling of the group head and clean all the ground out. Then I backflush until the water is clear.

My question is that, when the blindfilter is slowly edged off to break the sealing between blindfilter and the machine, can this harm the machine? Some of the staff think that this can harm the machine and they have muttered about air getting in the pump or the heads.

Thanks.
Paws

Postby CakeBoy » Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:54 am

It's a portafilter wiggle, no problem. Have a look at number eight in the following:

http://www.quiknet.com/frcn/Coffee/HowToBackflush.html
www.CakeBoy.co.uk
International muffin blagger

Iberital L'Anna 1 Gp Hand-Fill | Wega Orion 2 Gp | Bezzera 1 Gp | Rancilio Audrey PID | Spidem Trevi
Iberital MC2 Timed | Macap M4 DS & MXA DS | Mazzer SJ | Starbucks Barista Grinder (Dualit E60/Solis 166)
Pinhalense 2x500g Gas Batch/Sample Roaster | Gene Cafe | IMEX CR-100
Aerobie | eSantos | Zassenhaus | Bodum P/Over | Chemex | Hario Woodneck | Timer Filter
CakeBoy

Postby Guest » Sun Feb 26, 2006 12:58 am

Thank you CakeBoy for the quick reply.

Hehe, portafilter wiggle? What an ace term!

Is there any problems with using machine cleaning powder all the time? My boss reckons that it should only be used once a week.