Is my coffee strong enough?

For non-TMC members to ask questions and offer comments

Moderators: GreenBean, Gouezeri, bruceb, CakeBoy

Is my coffee strong enough?

Postby Harry » Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:47 pm

Hello all,

I just started brewing espresso at Christmas with a Gaggia Classic and MDF and although I am still very much at the learning stage, I can pull shots that follow the golden rule and have a decent crema.

I am going to stick my neck out now with a confession: I like Costa coffee! At least their Americanos and Macchiatos. However, when I try to make an Americano at home with a double shot in a normal size mug, it tastes weak, nothing like as strong as a Costa one. I have tried different beans, including Monsoon Malabar and Sumatra Mandheling. In desperation I bought a bag of Costa beans and tried them but nothing tastes strong enough.

Is there something I'm missing?

Harry
Harry

Postby mhuk » Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:53 pm

How many grams of coffee are you using (presumably freshly roasted and ground 2 mins before using?)?

If peeing in your pants is cool, consider me Miles Davis

Bezzera BZ99s * Mazzer SJ * Hottop
mhuk

Postby RobC » Tue Jan 10, 2006 8:55 pm

It might sound a bit silly, but how are you making your Americano? Ideally even for a double shot you should only make 2floz of espresso (not a mugs worth), then top up with hot water. If you try to run a mugs worth of water through the coffee then you will be obtaining negatives tastes from the spent grounds - The maximum - and this is pushing it, water you can run through 7g of espresso ground is around 3floz - so for your double six - Try topping with hot water and you might find an improvement. Hope this helps :lol:
Long forgotton Tech and Coffee Equipment guru.
Twitter: @c0ff33a
As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death I take a look at my life and realise there's none left 'Cause I've been brassing and laughing so long that Even my mamma thinks that my mind is gone
RobC